Union Minister of Railways and Commerce & Industry Piyush Goyal also took to Twitter to inform that railway operations will resume with 15 pairs of special trains connecting New Delhi with major stations across India initially.

These trains will be run as special trains from New Delhi station connecting Dibrugarh, Agartala, Howrah, Patna, Bilaspur, Ranchi, Bhubaneswar, Secunderabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Thiruvananthapuram, Madgaon, Mumbai Central, Ahmedabad and Jammu Tawi.

Passenger train services were suspended due to the nationwide lockdown that started on March 25.

Booking for reservation in these trains will start at 4 p.m. on May 11 and will be available only on the IRCTC website.

Ticket booking counters at railway stations will remain closed, and no counter tickets (including platform tickets) will be issued, it said.

Only passengers with valid confirmed tickets will be allowed to enter railway stations. It will be mandatory for passengers to wear face cover and undergo screening at departure, and only asymptomatic passengers will be allowed to board the trains.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get notified when we post your favourite!

Stay on top - Get the daily content from The August in your inbox