India elected as non-permanent member of UN Security Council for 8th time

India has been elected as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for the eighth time, securing the seat for the Asia-Pacific group.

India got 184 out of the 192 valid votes polled.

Non-permanent members ate elected for a two-year term, with the newly elected members’ terms set to begin in January 2021.

Along with India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway also won the Security Council elections held on Wednesday.

The Security Council has 10 non-permanent members in addition to the veto-wielding Big Five – Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States.

Previously, India has been elected as a non-permanent member of the Council for the years 1950-1951, 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977-1978, 1984-1985, 1991-1992 and most recently in 2011-2012.

What us UNSC?

The United Nations Security Council (UNSC), established in 1946, is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations (UN). It is in charge of ensuring international peace and security.

It is also responsible for approving the admission of new members to the UN, the appointment of the UN Secretary-General and senior UN officials.

The UNSC has 15 members with five permanent and 10 non-permanent members. The permanent members are the United Kingdom, China, France, Russia, and the United States.

The 10 non-permanent members are elected by the UN General Assembly to serve for two-year terms.

Related Posts